LAT Years 7 & 8 5-a-Side Football Tournament

Years 7 and 8 Boys are seen posing for a group photo during the LAT 5-a-side Football Tournament.

From left to right: Dena, Tyler, Masood, Osaheni, Ben, Luca, Oliver, Max, Oli, Ryan

On Wednesday 11th January 2023, 10 students from Year 7 and 8 travelled to Goals Football Centre at The Leigh Academy in Dartford to take part in the annual 5-a-side tournament. Alongside Sixth Form student Aman, Mr Baldwin coached the side through a tough group and through to the final.

After a close loss in the first game against Stationers’ Crown Woods Academy 2-1, the team bounced back, winning the remaining 5 group games in commanding fashion against some strong teams including Strood Academy and Mascalls Academy. In the final game of the group, Strood played against Crown Woods, with a draw or win being enough to see Crown Woods through to the final. But in a hard-fought contest, Strood came out 2-1 victors with a goal in the last minute to see the Math School team through to the final against The Hundred of Hoo Academy, who had been unbeaten all day.

The team got off to a confident start, but fell behind to a wonderful solo goal from the Hoo captain. Conceding first, kicked the side into action with Captain Luca leading the way, scoring 2 quick goals in reply followed by another two excellent team goals to run out eventual winners 4-1.

In a tournament where the standard was extremely high, to come out as champions is an incredible effort and well done to all of those involved. For a team that had not played together before the day, the whole team performed exceptionally well throughout a cold and wet day. Some stand out performances came from Captain Luca who ended the day as the teams top goal scorer, Ryan in goal who was outstanding all day and Oliver who’s non stop commitment and organisation in defence were key in some excellent victories.


Group Stage

  • Stationers’ Crown Woods Academy – Lost 2-1
  • Wilmington Academy – Won 4-1
  • Hayesbrook Academy – Won 3-0
  • Strood Academy – Won 3-2
  • The Leigh UTC – Won 2-0
  • Mascalls Academy – Won 2-0


  • The Hundred of Hoo Academy – Won 4-1